BIHAR STATE POLICY ON LANGUAGE IN EDUCATION

INTRODUCTION

Hindi is the official languages of the State. Maithili and Urdu are other recognized languages of the state. Unrecognized languages of the state are Bhojpuri and Magahi. Bhojpuri and Magahi are sociolinguistic a part of the Hindi Belt languages fold, thus they were not granted official status in the state. Urdu is the second official language in 15 districts of the state. However, the majority of the people of Bihar speak one of the Bihari languages, most of which as classified as dialects of Hindi during the census. The major ones are Bhojpuri, Maithili and Magahi, Angika, Bajjika are spoken by large numbers. Maithili is a recognized regional language of India under the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India. Proponents have called for Bhojpuri and Magahi to receive the same status. However speaker numbers for these languages are limited because the more educated and urban prefer to speak in Hindi (in formal contexts) and so return this answer on the census, while many in rural areas, especially the illiterate, their language as "Hindi" on the census regard that as the term for their language. Smaller communities of Bengali and Santali speakers are found in the eastern districts of the state.

HISTORY

Despite of the large number of speakers of Bihari languages, they have not been constitutionally recognized in India, except Maithili which is recognized under the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution of India. Hindi is the language used for educational and official matters in Bihar. These languages were legally absorbed under the subordinate label of Hindi in the 1961 Census. Such state and national politics are creating conditions for language endangerment. The first success for spreading Hindi occurred in Bihar in 1881, when Hindi displaced Urdu as the sole official language of the province. In this struggle between Hindi and Urdu, the potential claims of the three large mother tongues in the region – Bhojpuri, Maithili and Magahi were ignored. After independence Hindi was again given the sole official status through the Bihar Official Language Act, 1950. Urdu became the second official language in the undivided State of Bihar on 16 August 1989.

RECOGNISED LANGUAGES

- 1. Maithili
- 2. Urdu

OTHER LANGUAGES AND DIALECTS OF BIHAR

1. Angika

- 2. Bajjika
- 3. Bhojpuri
- 4. Magahi
- 5. Khortha
- 6. Santali
- 7. Surjapuri
- 8. Tharu

Classical languages of Bihar

- 1. Pali
- 2. Sanskrit

Language and script

Bhojpuri story written in Kaithi (1898), Maithili language in Tirhuta and Devanagari scripts

Hindi is the official languages of the State. Maithili and Urdu are other recognised languages of the state.

BIHAR STATE POLICY ON LANGUAGE

- 1. Tri language formula:- Three Language Formula according to NEP 2020:- As a medium of instruction: Wherever possible, the medium of instruction until at least Grade 5, but preferably till Grade 8 and beyond it will be the home language/mother-tongue/local language/regional language.
- 2. When in 1854 he sent a dispatch to Lord Dalhousie, the then Governor-General of India, Wood suggested that primary schools must adopt vernacular languages, high schools must adopt Anglo-vernacular language and at college-level English should be the medium of education. This is known as Wood's dispatch.
- 3. In 1952 Union Government of India appointed Dr. A Laxman Swami Mudaliar as a chairman of secondary education commission. At the high school a higher secondary stage, the student must be taught at least two languages, one of which being the mother tongue or the regional language
- 4. The formula as enunciated in the 1968 National Policy Resolution which provided for the study of "Hindi, English and modern Indian language (preferably one of the southern languages) in the Hindi speaking states and Hindi, English and the Regional language in the non-Hindi speaking States"
- 5. Article 346:- Official language for communication between one State and another or between a State and the Union The language for the time being authorized for use in the Union for official purposes shall be the official language for communication between one State and another State and between a State and the Union: Provided that if two or more

- States agree that the Hindi language should be the official language for communication between such States, that language may be used for such communication
- 6. Article 347:- On a demand being made in that behalf the President may, if he is satisfied that a substantial proportion of the population of a State desire the use of any language spoken by them to be recognised by that State, direct that such language shall also be officially recognised throughout that State or any part thereof for such purpose as he may specify